The Linden Depot Museum
This is the last Junction depot left in Indiana. It was built in 1908 and served the Nickel Plate Railroad, which ran east and west from Toledo, OH to St. Louis, MO, and the Monon Railroad (the old CI&L Railroad) which ran north and south from Chicago, IL to Louisville, KY. The Depot closed in the early 1970s, and re-opened as a Museum in April, 1993.
In this original building are housed many items of railroad memorabilia pertinent to the Nickel Plate and Monon Railroads as well as some from other railroads. In addition there are model train layouts in O-gauge, HO-gauge and N-gauge.
On the grounds is a Nickel Plate Railroad caboose, which is open for all to explore.
Mission of The Linden Depot Museum
The mission of the Linden Depot Museum is to preserve and protect the historic 1908-built Linden Depot and its railroad memorabilia as well as to promote its related railroad history. The mission includes the acquisition, restoration, preservation and display of railroad equipment, artifacts and mementos related to railways past and present.